What are Chakras?

The word “Chakra” is derived from a Sanskrit word meaning “wheel”, but perhaps even a better translation would be spinning wheel. The Chakra system originated in India, and is linked to ancient Yoga masters. Chakras are energy centres in the body, of which our consciousness, our energy system , is composed. There are seven major chakras located along the spine from the base to the crown of the head. Chakras are not physical, but rather aspects of our consciousness, they function as valves directing the flow of energy through our system. Each energy centre represents an emotion or psychological state as power, love, imagination and each is linked to a colour.

The seven major Chakras, each has a special attribute that helps the body use energy most effectively and has a distinct purpose in the body. Where they are located, is indicative of the task each Chakra is responsible for. The image below shows the location of each of the seven chakras.

Tara Wolf Chakra bracelets are fashionable prompts to remind us about ourselves, our thoughts and our aspirations.

The Crown Chakra    SAHASRARA

Beauty. Creativity. Inspiration.

Enlightenment, understanding, unity, perception, awareness,

knowingness, visionary, sacrificing, inspiration, charisma, bliss.

The Brow Chakra    AJNA

Intuition. Imagination. Clairvoyance.

Psychic perception, clear seeing, imagination, accurate

interpretation, Focus and enhance awareness, visualisation.

The Throat Chakra    VISHUDDHA

Self Expression. Communication. Confidence.

Loyal, tactful, affectionate, inspiring,

inventive, caring, cautious.

The Heart Chakra    ANAHATA

Balance. Love. Compassion.

Love of nature and others, forgiveness, compassion, trust

vulnerability, empathy, acceptance, harmony, contentment.

MANIPURA   The Solar Plexus Chakra

Wisdom. Clarity. Self-esteem.

Good-humoured, optimistic, confident, practical, and

intellectual, confidence, playfulness, balanced.

SVADHISTHANA   The Sacral Chakra

Relationships. Sexuality. Creativity.

Enthusiastic, happy, sociable, energetic, sporty, self-assured and constructive, creative and a general sense of wellness


MULADHARA   The Root Chakra

Prosperity. Courage. Self-Confidence.

Stability, grounded-ness, security, health, courage,

patience, individuality, success, survival and self-sufficiency,

strong willed, honest, extroverted, spontaneous, confidence.